Best of 2008: Peace, Faith, Love and Hope

 

robin_2711_love, peace, hope

flickr: robin_2711_love, peace, hope

 

 

 

The Grand essentials of happiness are: something to do, something to love, and something to hope for.

-Allan K. Chalmers

 

 

 

Another year has come and gone and another fast approaching.  This year, 2008, was rather trying and glorious at the same time.  As with each year that passes, I enjoy moments of reflection while walking a thin line, as not to cross over into the dreadful woulda, shoulda, couldas. 

As a reformed type A, goal oriented, “plan A-plan B-and back up planC” personality, I want to take some time to think about the highlights and lowlights (contrast is important – helps one clearly focus on what is wanted as opposed to what is not) of 2008.  You ever notice how the lowlights can be highlights as well?   The lowlights leads us to new depths in our journey in this beautiful lifetime.

Lowlights:

  • Lived fearful for much of the year
  • Two businesses failed
  • Severed several relationships (too toxic)
  • Moved from my home of 10 years

Highlights:

  • A clear business plan has been unveiled to me
  • Nurtured friendships and shared more love
  • Moved into a beautiful new home
  • Moved to a new state
  • Let go of stress, strain and resistance
  • Adopted an attitude of gratitude
  • Learned to trust my inner spirit, intuition

There were frightening moments, like when I made the decision to leave my marriage and move to another state.  The decision was made in less than 10 minutes.  I was faced with a decision to move from misery and into a more peaceful and blissful state (of course I didn’t know that at the time) all within a matter of minutes.  You are not stuck in your circumstance.  You have choices, make the ones that are best for you.

When I moved I left behind my businesses, my home and my life as I had know it for 18 years.  But, the relief that I felt when I made the decision to move forward was the most peace I had ever felt in my life.

So, as you are faced with decisions this upcoming year, search for feelings of joy.  Trust your intution that you are making the right decision for yourself.  This is risky, because you will have to become comfortable with being selfish.  It gets easier the more you do it, trust me!

The constrast from last year to this new year is: I am facing the upcoming year with a deliberate hope as opposed to living in fear last year. 

New things are on the horizon for me and I am open to allowing it in, I wish this for you too!  Happy New Year! 

lips011

 

 

Peace

One response to “Best of 2008: Peace, Faith, Love and Hope

  1. Faith, Hope and Love
    by Timothy J. Stewart

    Faith, Hope and Love will last forever,
    It’s news I’ve heard from somewhere up above,
    Faith, Hope and Love will last forever,
    And, the greatest of these three is Love.

    Faith is believing without seeing,
    Something your heart tells you is true.
    Faith is something shared by many,
    But your faith is special just for you.

    Hope is believing in your future,
    That God has something great for you in store,
    That in body you may be merely mortal,
    But, with the Holy Spirit, your much more.

    Love will overcome all evil.
    Love will conquer every foe.
    Love is the path that you must follow,
    If heaven is the place you want to go,

    Yes, Faith, Hope and Love will last forever,
    It’s news I’ve heard from somewhere up above,
    That, Faith, Hope and Love will last forever,
    And, the greatest of these three is Love.

Leave a Reply

